Yesterday Ryan and I went out for dinner, just the two of us.  It was wonderful.  I was prodded into it by my participation in this virtual retreat.  We had nothing planned Saturday and so I picked up the phone, called my mum and arranged for us to drop off both girls.  Except for a walk and a quick trip to the mall, Ryan and I have not been alone since August 4, 2009.  It was our anniversary and had celebrated the night before by going for Indian and then to see Food Inc.  We were supposed to pick up Miss Pumpkin but left her another night with my mum because I had a feeling that Miss Heddy was going to arrive soon.  Sure enough she arrived just after 2am on the 5th.

Not only did we go out for dinner but we didn’t talk the entire time about the girls.  We did talk about how we were feeling as parents and the impact it has had on us.  We talked about loneliness, community, my plans for a school and the education system in general.  I left, feeling connected again.  Not that I have felt like Ryan and I have drifted apart, just that so much of the time we are negotiating with each others as co-parents and problem-solvers that it is easy  to forget that there are other parts of ourselves that need to be nourished and heard.

kisses for baby

post-dinner

There was even dessert & coffee

There was even dessert & coffee had